simple Barco IP control

kaarlek

Hi all,

First of all, sorry for the topic but i really am in a bit of trouble.

Since i have no coding experience, I dont know where to start when I need to activate PIP function on a Barco HDX-W20 FLEX projector.

I have to activate PIPs on 4 projectors simultaneously, as i know the Watchout so it should be the tool for that.

I have gone through the barco protocol manual, but as i mentioned, no coding experience and that doesnt get me far.

Any clues where to start are appreciated.

with regards 

Kaarle

Looks like a pretty convoluted protocol, originally devised to be sent over a serial line, and then just repurposed over Ethernet, while still keeping the (now redundant) checksum calculation, as well as byte "escape" sequences for bytes that aren't allowed within commands (i.e., to avoid framing issues on a serial data line). At least that seems to be the case, unless I'm overlooking something in here.

Implementing it as WATCHOUT network command strings should be doable, but not trivial.

Mike

I  had the opportunity to work on the Barco HDX-W18 replacing Christie LX-1500's used for a 360-degree water-screen show last year, but via RS-232. However, we did not use PiP commands, only power, shutter, and projector response to their status, lamp hours queries, etc.

I would try the following -

1. Via the Projector's Menu, first discover and note down the IP Address of each projector and set the DEVICE address of ALL projectors to 0 (Pg. 11-12 of Command Catalog)

2. In Watchout > Output Window > create 4 String Outputs > use the IP addresses so discovered, and Port 43680 which is the TCP port the Barco listens to for incoming commands (Note If TCP has a simultaneous send problem to all 4 projectors through the same port, try UDP)