Jump to content


Photo

WATCHOUT in Windows 10

windows10 watchout

  • Please log in to reply
65 replies to this topic

#21 jfk

jfk

     

  • Administrator
  • 1,075 posts
  • LocationCincinnati, Ohio USA

Posted 16 June 2016 - 06:00 PM

Thank you for your fast reply!

 

If I understood we should wait the "Windows 10 anniversary update" that should came up at the end of June / beginning of July.. I will keep my fingers crossed.

 

Tnx

 

Well yes, but then once that is officially released,

the work can begin on WATCHOUT to correct anything that may crop up.

At the least, a few weeks would be needed for reasonable testing, etc.

So once Microsoft gets its act together,

you may still need to wait for the next iteration of WATCHOUT to be released.



#22 Thomas Leong

Thomas Leong
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 336 posts
  • LocationKuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Posted 20 July 2016 - 01:52 PM

Watchout 6.1.2 Display 'under' Windows 10 seems to work now...with the proviso that Watchpoint works only in Windows 7/8 Compatibility mode, not otherwise. [Edit: only on 1 monitor output! See Edit 2 below]

 

So far tested with only one Display monitor out (using my laptop which is the only unit I have with Windows 10 - upgraded by Microsoft from Windows 8.1 months ago). Tested multiple layers in the Main Timeline, Aux Timelines, Live Video (webcam), and some Tweens - Scale, Volume, Position. All work now without problems. Was not so a couple of months ago when I tried Compatibility mode, which resulted in inconsistent network connection with the Production PC. This time, seems solid when I Ctrl+Q out of Display, and relaunch Watchpoint again repeatedly. No problems surfaced. Don't know what Microsoft has updated since, but seems to work well so far.

 

Your mileage might vary,

Thomas Leong

 

Edit 1: As my tests were only to a single display, if someone has Win 10 in a multi-display capable pc, perhaps he could report back the results before Microsoft's free upgrade to Win 10 expires.

 

Edit 2: Unsuccessful test 36 hours later with 2 outputs from my Win 10 laptop - via HDMI out for the 2nd output. Watchpoint 6.1.2 and 5.5.2 would not start up...oft times went into a loop trying to start. It is like back to Watchout v4 but using v6!! No joy.



#23 Miro

Miro

    Dataton

  • Moderator
  • 117 posts

Posted 30 July 2016 - 09:44 AM

We have tested multiple outputs with success using a preview of the anniversary update which should be released the 2nd of August. Although this is great news we still need to conduct thorough tests before we can recommend users to upgrade to Windows 10.

#24 jithulead

jithulead
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 7 posts

Posted 05 August 2016 - 01:13 PM

 "Windows 10 anniversary update"  is available now 

 

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/12387/windows-10-update-history?ocid=update_setting_client



#25 Thomas Leong

Thomas Leong
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 336 posts
  • LocationKuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Posted 05 August 2016 - 07:21 PM

Yes, I updated 2 nights ago, but Win 10 v1607 still does not seem to work as a multi-output Watchout Display PC!...for me anyway.

 

Tested only with my i5 Lenovo laptop (therefore only 2 outputs: laptop display + HDMI out). WO 6.1.2.

Selecting the nVidia gfx card (840M, latest driver updated), works only in Clone mode, not in Extended mode.

Selecting the onboard Intel 4400 gfx, Watchout works in Extended Mode! That's not bad I suppose since the laptop i5 can play out 2 x 1920x1080 without a problem with the Intel 4400 gfx.

 

A Desktop may be different, but I do not have Win 10 on mine. Hopefully someone else can report on this.

 

Thomas Leong



#26 Miro

Miro

    Dataton

  • Moderator
  • 117 posts

Posted 06 August 2016 - 09:38 AM

Thomas, WATCHOUT doesn't work across multiple GPUs and some laptops use the Intel GPU for the internal display as soon as you extend it. It should be possible to set the preferred GPU in the Nvidia settings for some laptops. Also hybrid SLI could also work if it's available.

#27 Thomas Leong

Thomas Leong
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 336 posts
  • LocationKuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Posted 06 August 2016 - 11:11 AM

Thanks Miro. But I did try all combinations for Watchpoint:

- Default gpu: Intel. This worked.

- Default gpu: nVidia. This did not.

- Preferred gpu: nVidia. This did not.

- Preferred gpu: Intel. This worked.

No hybrid SLI option for me.

 

Perhaps it is the dual gpu that is the cause of my problem, although I thought that by selecting the nVidia as default rather than preferred, it would somehow 'disable' the Intel. Looks like not. I presume your tests are with a desktop with a 3rd party gpu installed, and so far that works fine with the Anniversary Update? Time for me to go buy a Win 10 Pro licence to find out then...but I still have 2 unsold Win 7 Pro licences in the cupboard!

 

Thomas



#28 lorenzobecks

lorenzobecks

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 07 September 2016 - 05:07 PM

compatibility issue whit whatchout are solved since the launch of win 10 anniversary? it work  now?



#29 jfk

jfk

     

  • Administrator
  • 1,075 posts
  • LocationCincinnati, Ohio USA

Posted 07 September 2016 - 06:16 PM

compatibility issue whit whatchout are solved since the launch of win 10 anniversary? it work  now?

No, not yet.
Dataton is in the process of testing with Win 10 AE,
but that process is not complete.
I suspect testing will turn up new issues which would then
be addressed in a future WO 6 release.
Until then, Windows 7 remains the recommended OS for WATCHOUT.

That said, some end users have been trying out Win 10 AE with some success,
but that is jumping the gun a bit, and puts you into the "unsupported" realm for now.
i.e. as per the old saying ...
"You can always tell the pioneers by all the arrows in their back"

#30 pedroR

pedroR
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 9 posts

Posted 03 October 2016 - 10:11 AM

Regarding Watchout 5.5.2 Production on Windows 10, you can't start a Display computer's (Win 7) timeline using the WATCHOUT Production application on Windows 10.

 

If you press spacebar/play on WATCHOUT Production on Windows 7, the timeline on the WATCHOUT Display (Win 7) starts.

If you press spacebar/play on WATCHOUT Production on Windows 10, the timeline on the WATCHOUT Display (Win 7) does not start. The preview on the WATCHOUT Production does start though.

 

Using telnet on Windows 10 to control WATCHOUT Display (Win 7) works properly.



#31 jfk

jfk

     

  • Administrator
  • 1,075 posts
  • LocationCincinnati, Ohio USA

Posted 03 October 2016 - 03:21 PM

Regarding Watchout 5.5.2 Production on Windows 10, you can't start a Display computer's (Win 7) timeline using the WATCHOUT Production application on Windows 10.

 

If you press spacebar/play on WATCHOUT Production on Windows 7, the timeline on the WATCHOUT Display (Win 7) starts.

If you press spacebar/play on WATCHOUT Production on Windows 10, the timeline on the WATCHOUT Display (Win 7) does not start. The preview on the WATCHOUT Production does start though.

 

Using telnet on Windows 10 to control WATCHOUT Display (Win 7) works properly.

 

What you describe is a network problem, not a Windows problem per se.

You Win 10 system is not sending its UDP broadcast packets

(and the TCP/IP is getting through ok as expected).

Check for multiple NICs in the Win 10 system, if there are,

disable all but the WATCHOUT NIC and see of the problem disappears.

If that does not fix it, take a second look at firewalls settings, network switch DOS protections, etc.

 

Its all a bit academic, as Win 10 is not really compatible with WATCHOUT 5 anyway,

but as you discovered, it will mostly work with a bit of care on your part.



#32 Martin Pfeifer

Martin Pfeifer
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 65 posts
  • LocationWiesbaden

Posted 12 November 2016 - 01:18 AM

I would like to install this as a media drive in a display computer.

teaserbox_54647225.jpg

Will it work with windows 7 or is WO display software now able to run under Win 10?



#33 screenshaper

screenshaper
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 64 posts
  • LocationItaly

Posted 12 November 2016 - 08:24 PM

It works perfectly with win7

 

I would like to install this as a media drive in a display computer.

teaserbox_54647225.jpg

Will it work with windows 7 or is WO display software now able to run under Win 10?

 


#34 Lloyd Stewart

Lloyd Stewart
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 64 posts
  • LocationAustin, Texas, USA

Posted 09 January 2017 - 07:23 AM

I'm about to totally commit to computer rebuilds, so it'd be nice to get a little insight into the Windows 10 testing timeline so I can make some final decisions as whether to choose more advanced components or stick with the older stuff.

 

So three questions:

 

1. How's the Windows 10 testing coming along?  

 

2. Is there any chance Watchout will be tested with the new KabyLake (Windows 10 only) motherboards and i7-7700k processor?

 

3. I think I already know the answer to this last question, but I gotta ask: Is there any significant chance that Watchout 5.5.2 will ever work with Windows 10? (and yes, I did read jfk's post just 3 posts above and realize that I might be able to get 5.5.2 to work with Windows 10, but thought there might be an outside chance that, as MS finally gets Windows 10 where it should be, that WO 5.5.2 might be just fine to use with Windows 10.  Yes?)

 

Thanks!

 

Lloyd



#35 ronjn

ronjn

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • LocationNew York

Posted 10 January 2017 - 07:20 AM

Any updates on this ?



#36 Miro

Miro

    Dataton

  • Moderator
  • 117 posts

Posted 10 January 2017 - 11:21 AM

Hi, for the production interface Windows10 works just fine. We are using dell XPS laptops in house equipped with either skylake or kaby lake processors.

 

On the display server side I mostly tested Skylake so far but we will test newer hardware soon as well. The only issue we have with intel GPUs and windows 10 is that we cannot set the resolution and refresh rate from WATCHOUT. The intel GPUs seems to ignore all resizing requests so the workaround is to setup everything correctly in Intel's graphic properties user interface.

 

However, the kaby lake processor available at the moment have only the low-end GPUs (Intel HD Graphics 615-630) and I would wait for the Iris and Iris Pro series (640, 650 and 680). The low end GPUs have a much lower fill rate (filling the pixels on the screen, including all layers) compared to the Iris series. But if you only want to connect 1-2 HD displays then it should be fine. It also seems that the frame scheduling is not as accurate which can lead to dropped frames.



#37 Lloyd Stewart

Lloyd Stewart
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 64 posts
  • LocationAustin, Texas, USA

Posted 10 January 2017 - 06:57 PM

Thanks for the update Miro! 

 

Interesting.  I thought that with a separate graphics card (I recently purchased the WX7100) that the processor's onboard GPU's would be disabled.  But apparently all video data still passes through the Intel processor's GPU on its way to the display such that resolution, refresh rate, and resizing via Watchout fails for some reason, as well as having a lower fill rate and increased possibility of dropped frames?  

 

Therefore, I am putting on hold my decision to buy the Kaby Lake i7-7700k processor which does indeed have the low end 630 Intel Graphics.  Your post was a huge piece of information that I had been missing

 

Your help in understanding is most appreciated!

 

Thanks!

 

Lloyd...............who may cave and just go with Windows 7, but who hopes that everything will soon be settled as far as Watchout and  Windows 10 goes to where I can make the best decisions on display computer rebuilds.



#38 Lloyd Stewart

Lloyd Stewart
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 64 posts
  • LocationAustin, Texas, USA

Posted 10 January 2017 - 07:47 PM

Wait a minute.  A separate graphics card is connected directly to a display, right?  That video doesn't get rerouted to a processor's GPU, does it?  So, unless we are thinking of using a processor's onboard graphics, we don't have to worry about resolution, refresh rate, resizing, and dropped frames, unless, of course, the video card itself is having those problems, right? 



#39 Miro

Miro

    Dataton

  • Moderator
  • 117 posts

Posted 17 January 2017 - 05:24 PM

Yes, you are correct. You might also disable the intel GPU in the BIOS settings for certain hardware.



#40 glulab

glulab
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 9 posts
  • LocationValletta - Malta

Posted 28 January 2017 - 01:42 PM

Hi All,

 

Do you have some news related testing WO6 on WIN10?

 

I'm testing a WIN10 1607.14393.0 computer display equipped with fire pro with 6 out. What can I see here is that sometimes the WO display crashes but I can't understand what trigger it, sometimes seems to be related to network communication but it's a sporadic behaviour.

 

Does Dataton has some experience to share with us?

 

Cheers







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: windows10, watchout