Prores Compatibility

Hayesse

Hello all,

I am new to Watchout and learning as I go, so I appreciate any help from this community.

I am having an issue with Prores files not being recognized as video files. When I add a prores file into the media list it shows up as an audio track. When I add the the file to the timeline I get an error "Quicktime error: -2095"

Am I encoding my Prores files incorrectly? Below is the info for a file in question. I have tried this on multiple production computers installed on different hardware. 

I appreciate any suggestions. Thanks!

-Sean

File: /Users/sh/Movies/SG Videos/Robe Pointe-Apple ProRes 422 HQ.mov

Size: 2.73 GB

Format: QuickTime/MPEG-4/Motion JPEG 2000 format

Stream count: 3

Duration: 00:00:55

Bit rate: 422914 kb/s

Meta info:

compatible_brands: qt  

minor_version: 0

creation_time: 2017-06-12 14:26:09

major_brand: qt  

Stream 0

Type: audio

Codec: pcm_s16be

FourCC: lpcm

Bit rate: 1536 kb/s

Sample rate: 48000 Hz

Sample format: s16

Channel: 2

Meta info:

handler_name: Core Media Data Handler

language: eng

Stream 1

Type: video

Codec: prores

FourCC: apch

Width: 1920

Height: 1080

Sample aspect ratio: 1:1

Display aspect ratio: 16:9

Pixel format: yuv422p10le

Frame rate: 59.95 fps

Bit rate: 421374 kb/s

Meta info:

language: und

Stream 2

Type: data

Meta info:

language: und

Which Watchout version are you using? Prores is not supported in releases earlier than Watchout 6. Our recommendation is usually to have separate files for audio and video. If you are running WO6, please try encoding to a file only containing the video and see if that makes a difference. 

Although prores is supported in Watchout, I would not recommend it for playback, since it is mainly an editing format. Quality is excellent, but files are quite big, and requires quite a lot of resources to decode. 

Watchout supports all currently available flavours of prores: 

422 Proxy

422 LT

422 Standard

422 HQ

4444 XQ

/Erik