Jump to content


Photo

WATCHOUT 6.2 Bugs

Watchout 6.2

  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Jason H Thompson

Jason H Thompson
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 6 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles

Posted 12 December 2017 - 06:37 AM

When I double click on a show file (created in 6.1.6) after running the Watchout 6.2 installer, it tries to run the installer file.  If I use the Watchout Production shortcut and open the show file that way, it opens as intended.  I also had to add the .exe extension to the installer file I downloaded to get it to run.



#2 Miro

Miro

    Dataton

  • Moderator
  • 117 posts

Posted 12 December 2017 - 11:09 AM

Hi, this is a slightly embarrassing error in the installer resulting that .watch extensions are not associated with WATCHOUT. We corrected this and replaced the installer. Uninstall WATCHOUT, get the updated installer and install again.

 

Your missing .exe extension problem seems a bit odd. Haven't seen that one before. What browser and OS are you using?



#3 Quim

Quim
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 40 posts

Posted 12 December 2017 - 02:23 PM

Hi,

 

I realised now you can't choose where to install WO, it does in a WATCHOUT folder in the main root of the main system disk. Later can copy to another folder but it's like a bit mess.



#4 Michael

Michael

  • Dataton Partner
  • PipPipPip
  • 42 posts
  • LocationIsrael

Posted 12 December 2017 - 03:38 PM

Quim,

I think you missed the tab where you can choose the option to select the installation folder.

Regards,
Michael H
Digital AV - ISRAEL



#5 DavidA

DavidA

    Dataton

  • Administrator
  • 33 posts
  • LocationNorway/Sweden

Posted 12 December 2017 - 05:20 PM

When I double click on a show file (created in 6.1.6) after running the Watchout 6.2 installer, it tries to run the installer file.  If I use the Watchout Production shortcut and open the show file that way, it opens as intended.

Thank you for reporting this, Jason! We have sent information to all who downloaded the installer file with this problem to make them aware of the problem. 

 

Best regards, 
David 



#6 mayunta

mayunta
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 21 posts
  • LocationMadrid, Spain

Posted 13 December 2017 - 11:58 AM

Hi,
 
In the View Stage List, the name column does not save the size in the layout presets when you change the size of the column.
 
In version 6.1.6, it did not either.
 
Best regards,
 
Miguel


#7 jfk

jfk

     

  • Administrator
  • 1,064 posts
  • LocationCincinnati, Ohio USA

Posted 13 December 2017 - 01:06 PM

It would be more effective if bug reports are sent to support_at_dataton.com

replace _at_ with @, trying to confuse the crawlers ;)

Feature suggestions can be placed here: Feature requests? - POST here



#8 rufus

rufus

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 13 December 2017 - 06:25 PM

Hello,
 
in new version (6.2) don't work audio.
I can not switch audio playback to Default DirectSoundDevice. Only "none" or "Realtek"
 
Windows 8.1
Warning: Multi channel audio renderer is not available.
 
the sound goes through hdmi to onkyo.


#9 Miro

Miro

    Dataton

  • Moderator
  • 117 posts

Posted 16 December 2017 - 10:10 AM

Hi, if you get a warning that "Multi channel audio renderer is not available" this indicates that WATCHOUT wasn't properly installed. This can occur if you update the WATCHOUT version on the display server through the production computer without running WATCHOUT (WATCHPOINT) as admin on the display server.

 

Solution to this problem:

  1. Uninstall WATCHOUT on the display server
  2. Install WATCHOUT 6.2 on the display server

In the update process of WATCHOUT 6.2, important components needs to be installed and without administrative rights this is not possible. The installer elevates it's privileges to get administrative rights but WATCHOUT doesn't (because this involves user interaction which might be hard on the display server). Therefore it's recommended to run WATCHOUT on the display server (WATCHPOINT.EXE) with administrative rights in order to get the remote software update working correctly. Otherwise files will get copied but not installed.



#10 Luca

Luca
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 23 posts

Posted 20 December 2017 - 02:39 PM

Audio cue don't work in loop+freerun mode.
If i place a wave file and pause on it, it stops playing even of I set loop and freerun.

Is it a problem of my computer only or a bug of 6.2?
Same computer with 6.1.6 works fine

#11 Erik Rönnqvist

Erik Rönnqvist

    Dataton

  • Moderator
  • 80 posts

Posted 21 December 2017 - 08:44 AM

This is a bug in 6.2, which has now been fixed. The fix will be included in Watchout 6.2.1.

 

/Erik 



#12 Thomas Leong

Thomas Leong
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 334 posts
  • LocationKuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Posted 22 December 2017 - 05:09 PM

Here's another bug which I'm not sure others are experiencing.

 

Opening a simple one media item .watch file (originally created in 6.2), the Production interface will start up, but hangs trying to populate the various windows. I have to stop Production with Task Manager, go the folder and delete the particular show cache, then .watch file will open properly. Occurs regardless whether the .watch file is opened with Production's startup interface, or by clicking on the .watch file itself. Does not occur with v6.1.6.

 

Thomas Leong



#13 Michele Dallaglio

Michele Dallaglio
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 6 posts

Posted 26 December 2017 - 05:58 PM

Is it normal that using the save preset, when I recall the saved preset all the tasks go to stop and I lose the connection with the display ???



#14 Miro

Miro

    Dataton

  • Moderator
  • 117 posts

Posted 28 December 2017 - 11:24 AM

Thomas, compared to 6.1.6 the selected audio device is initialized as well as the NDI listener (so it can populate the combo box with available NDI devices).

 

If your selected audio device is broken or has a damaged driver then the production interface could hang or crash on startup. In this case it would help to disconnect the problematic audio device and try to open WATCHOUT again.

 

What type of media item does your show file contain? What you also can do is to check the Window's event viewer and look for clues under Windows Logs->Application.



#15 Miro

Miro

    Dataton

  • Moderator
  • 117 posts

Posted 28 December 2017 - 11:31 AM

Michele, unfortunately this is a limitation/bug in 6.2 and we are working on a solution. Also the playhead is reset when recalling a layout preset and this one will also be solved in an upcoming bugfix release. 



#16 SweetHorizon

SweetHorizon

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 13 January 2018 - 03:54 PM

I no longer see an icon to indicate location of audio file in the stage window.



#17 screenshaper

screenshaper
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 64 posts
  • LocationItaly

Posted 15 January 2018 - 01:41 PM

I no longer see an icon to indicate location of audio file in the stage window.

I noticed this happens only if you have sound device set as "none" on production PC preferences

#18 Thomas Leong

Thomas Leong
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 334 posts
  • LocationKuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Posted 15 January 2018 - 03:32 PM

Thomas, compared to 6.1.6 the selected audio device is initialized as well as the NDI listener (so it can populate the combo box with available NDI devices).

 

If your selected audio device is broken or has a damaged driver then the production interface could hang or crash on startup. In this case it would help to disconnect the problematic audio device and try to open WATCHOUT again.

 

What type of media item does your show file contain? What you also can do is to check the Window's event viewer and look for clues under Windows Logs->Application.

 

Sorry Miro, I seem to have missed your reply. I have since deleted the .watch file and not tested again. It was using a layout preset too and a 3d.obj file, so I can't say what caused my problem then.

 

If you could check another problem I found today with 6.2 using Corner Tween on 3 small video .mp4 files trying to map each file to a basic 3-sided cube. On adding a second video with Corner Tween to the Stage and playing (the two videos - first and second), this second video starts to blink and add artifacts to other areas of the Stage Display. Adding the third video to the other face of the cube does not solve it. Tested only on Production PC, not online to Display PC. I then recreated the scenario with 6.1.6 and all three videos each with Corner Tween mapped nicely to the cube. No blinking, no artifacts.

 

Thomas



#19 Thomas Leong

Thomas Leong
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 334 posts
  • LocationKuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Posted 16 January 2018 - 10:09 AM

Sorry Miro, I seem to have missed your reply. I have since deleted the .watch file and not tested again. It was using a layout preset too and a 3d.obj file, so I can't say what caused my problem then.

 

If you could check another problem I found today with 6.2 using Corner Tween on 3 small video .mp4 files trying to map each file to a basic 3-sided cube. On adding a second video with Corner Tween to the Stage and playing (the two videos - first and second), this second video starts to blink and add artifacts to other areas of the Stage Display. Adding the third video to the other face of the cube does not solve it. Tested only on Production PC, not online to Display PC. I then recreated the scenario with 6.1.6 and all three videos each with Corner Tween mapped nicely to the cube. No blinking, no artifacts.

 

Thomas

 

Hi Miro,

 

Apologies. Please ignore the above re Corner Tween artifacts in 6.2. Tested on another Production PC today, and it was not there. Then remembered that the first PC had an old graphics card in it. So that was probably the problem.

 

Thomas