Jump to content


Photo

How to add live video.

blackmagic intensity shuttle intensity shuttle usb usb 3.0 intensity shuttle usb 3.0 rensas nec usb controller

  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 XXIII

XXIII
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 5 posts

Posted 23 May 2012 - 12:17 PM

I have a Easycapture ,how can I add live video from it?

#2 Jonas Dannert

Jonas Dannert
  • Administrator
  • 796 posts
  • LocationStockholm, Sweden

Posted 23 May 2012 - 02:44 PM

What is a "Easycapture" ?

/jonas

#3 XXIII

XXIII
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 5 posts

Posted 24 May 2012 - 05:53 AM

I mean this one Jonas
Posted Image

/Hai

#4 Jonas Dannert

Jonas Dannert
  • Administrator
  • 796 posts
  • LocationStockholm, Sweden

Posted 24 May 2012 - 07:36 AM

This will not work well, it will also add a severe delay to your signal if it worked with WATCHOUT.

No USB capture solution works. Network camera stream (a 5.2 feature) would give you similar quality.

What is commonly used is a capture card, like:

Blackmagic Design:
Decklink series (SDI/HDSDI/Analog)
Intensity Pro (HDMI/Analog)

Datapath:
VisionRGB E1s/E2s/DL-DVI (VGA/Component/DVI/HDMI)
VisionSDI2 (SDI/HDSDI/3G-SDI)

/jonas

#5 XXIII

XXIII
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 5 posts

Posted 24 May 2012 - 08:16 AM

Thank you for your support !

#6 XXIII

XXIII
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 5 posts

Posted 24 May 2012 - 10:15 AM

One more question please, I had a laptop for Watchout Production (HP elitebook mobile workstation 8560w), and a desktop pc for Watchout display, how can I input live signals from another laptop to display ? (For example, to show a powerpoint presentation)

#7 jfk

jfk

     

  • Moderator
  • 442 posts
  • LocationCincinnati, OH USA

Posted 24 May 2012 - 03:03 PM

One more question please, I had a laptop for Watchout Production (HP elitebook mobile workstation 8560w), and a desktop pc for Watchout display, how can I input live signals from another laptop to display ? (For example, to show a powerpoint presentation)


Well since your powerppoint laptop will output either analog RGB VGA or digital RGB DVI or DP or MDP or HDMI,
the best choice would be
Datapath:
VisionRGB E1s/E2s/DL-DVI (VGA/Component/DVI/HDMI)

That particular card requires a PCIe x4 expansion slot.

#8 LiveMedia

LiveMedia
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 9 posts

Posted 25 May 2012 - 06:09 AM

We are using sometimes as a cheap alternative in addition to our Blackmagic card a similar USB video dongle (it actually looks the same as your EasyCap but it is not branded). Surprisingly, the delay for the USB dongle is the same as for the several times more expensive Blackmagic card :-)

#9 jfk

jfk

     

  • Moderator
  • 442 posts
  • LocationCincinnati, OH USA

Posted 25 May 2012 - 01:45 PM

We are using sometimes as a cheap alternative in addition to our Blackmagic card a similar USB video dongle (it actually looks the same as your EasyCap but it is not branded). Surprisingly, the delay for the USB dongle is the same as for the several times more expensive Blackmagic card :-)


A pleasant surprise the delay is that small / good.
The EasyCAP sure appears to be just an analog SD video capture device.
Low res analog interlaced at traditional frame rates (29.97 / 25 fps) - ugh.
As good as you need for 20th century analog SD video devices :D
Probably not something you would want to use for a PowerPoint computer capture. Posted Image

#10 XXIII

XXIII
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 5 posts

Posted 06 June 2012 - 06:41 AM

Now I have a DeckLink Studio and a Epiphan Vga2usb,how can I input live video for both devices.
In WC production: I set input device:1 then it recognize the DeckLink
input device:2 3 or 4 it does not recognize anything.
Help me!

#11 lekien

lekien

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 06 June 2012 - 08:53 AM

I also had problems with adding live video. I'm wondering why I cannot input live video.. I have the composite and vga2usb epiphan connect to the display computer.

#12 jfk

jfk

     

  • Moderator
  • 442 posts
  • LocationCincinnati, OH USA

Posted 06 June 2012 - 12:17 PM

Now I have a DeckLink Studio and a Epiphan Vga2usb,how can I input live video for both devices.
In WC production: I set input device:1 then it recognize the DeckLink input device.
2 3 or 4 it does not recognize anything. Help me!


There should be no guessing on the input device number.
Confirm the input device number definition in WATCHOUT Display (watchpoint) is correctly defined.
The input devices in the WATCHOUT Display computer must be assigned in the Display Computer's "Video In" menu
before you can reference them in WATCHOUT Production. (reference WATCHOUT 5 User Guide, page 137).
If the display computer has not properly defined the inputs, they will not be accessible.

#13 vj kevlar

vj kevlar

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 20 June 2012 - 07:23 PM

Could you please compare the following capture cards on EASE OF USE/Seemless integration with WATCHOUT, capture and display Performance (Framerates, image quality, pixelation, color quality, etc.)?

BlackMagic Decklink Duo
"" Decklink 4k
VisionSDI2 - (ALSO, any one know a good vendor? Google shopping shows up nothing)

#14 Sebastian

Sebastian
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 7 posts
  • LocationWarsaw, Poland

Posted 18 July 2012 - 07:21 AM

Hi,

I have capture card Blackmagic design Intensity Shuttle. This card has input: HDMI, Component, S-Video and Composite.
Only working properly input is Composite but only with camera using PAL standard. When I connect to composite input signal from ROLAND V-800HD it stop working I have only black screen.
I try many watchout setting and I still stay in the same point... Could you tell me how I should configure LiveVideo input in watchout and what I shoud check else.
For example I connect 1080p signal (from ROLAND) to HDMI input.

Thanks for any advise.

#15 Walter

Walter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 102 posts
  • LocationAmsterdam, The Netherlands

Posted 18 July 2012 - 08:55 PM

Sebastian,
First question: do you have a signal in the BM media express software? (on all inputs...)

#16 Jonas Dannert

Jonas Dannert
  • Administrator
  • 796 posts
  • LocationStockholm, Sweden

Posted 23 July 2012 - 03:55 PM

I would not recommend to use Intensity Shuttle for Live Capture in WATCHOUT.
It uses uses USB 3.0, work on very specific chipsets/motherboards (see Blackmagic support), and you can expect a delay that is a lot more than on an ordinary capture card (PCIe).

It's HDMI input supports progressive 1280x720p50/59.94/60 or 1920x1080p25/29.97/30, NOT 50/59.94/60.
With a video switcher in front of a capture card, it will also add to your chain of delay, depending on what functions is used in the switcher.

/jonas

#17 Sebastian

Sebastian
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 7 posts
  • LocationWarsaw, Poland

Posted 08 August 2012 - 08:26 AM

Walter,
I try used BM software to capture signal from any input and it works. But in Watchout it dosen't work.

Jonas,
thanks for your advice. I try HDMI setting which you wrote but it dosen't work any way.
Now I want buy another capture card and I think about Datapath Vision SD4+1S. Is it good choice? Do you know is that card work properly with Watchout?

#18 Shane Iyempermall

Shane Iyempermall

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • LocationQuatre Bornes, Mauritius

Posted 31 March 2014 - 04:40 PM

<moved by moderator>

 

Dear all,

 

Has someone ever tried to use a BlackMagic Intensity Shuttle USB 3.0 with Watchout 5.5.1?

 

I already have a DeckLink installed inside and has only USB 3.0 on the mainboard.  But, I saw a Warning Notice, saying that the BlackMagic Intensity Shuttle USB 3.0 will work using a Rensas/Nec USB 3.0 controller.

 

Has someone come across this issue??  Any help?

 

Regards,

 

Shane Iyempermall



#19 paolino

paolino
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • LocationBergamo

Posted 31 March 2014 - 09:17 PM

<moved by moderator>

 

Hi Shane,

 

It's true.

The intensity shuttle work with these chipset.

If you have ASMedia 104x chipset you can try with the driver version 1.16.10.1.0 ( not so stable )

 

At moment I can't try if the shuttle work with Watchout because me machines are out for work.

 

Paolo



#20 Shane Iyempermall

Shane Iyempermall

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • LocationQuatre Bornes, Mauritius

Posted 01 April 2014 - 02:20 PM

Thank you Paolo,

 

The Watchout systems runs on Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H.  They use Intel and VIA VL800 chipsets.  Do you think we can manage to make it run on those machines?

 

Regards,

 

Shane







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: blackmagic, intensity, shuttle, intensity shuttle, usb, usb 3.0, intensity shuttle usb 3.0, rensas, nec, usb controller