3d Mesh Creation

LukeMc

Having a first look through v6.

As a complete novice in mapping as opposed to multiscreen, what software are you all using to create your 3D meshes in V6?

Also what is a standard practice for say importing a model of a building/architectural structure to create content? I have my theories, but would be nice to get a bit of advise from someone who has experience with this already.

Cheers!

Having a first look through v6.

As a complete novice in mapping as opposed to multiscreen, what software are you all using to create your 3D meshes in V6?

Also what is a standard practice for say importing a model of a building/architectural structure to create content? I have my theories, but would be nice to get a bit of advise from someone who has experience with this already.

Cheers!

I myself have started experiencing with Blender and Sketchup. The standard practice for importing a 3D model and using it for content creation is explained inthe videos 

Blender and Sketchup are both free programs. WATCHOUT will read basic Blender files as is. I believe you can get  Collada file from the free version of Sketchup (since that's essentially its native format, albeit packaged up in some clever way). I know you can export both OBJ and 3Ds from the "Pro" version of Sketchup.

My personally favorite is Cinema3D. A lot of people use 3D Studio Max. Both are rather expensive though. If the above free programs, Sketchup is probably the easiest one to get to grips with. Its texture mapping tools suck, though. Blender is very capable, but has a UI that's not lioke anything else in the known universe, and takes some getting used to. Lots of tutorials on the net though.

Mike

OK. This is what I recalled of as the "work-around":

https://www.khronos.org/collada/wiki/SketchUp

However, more recent versions of Sketchup apparently support this directly in the free version:

http://help.sketchup.com/en/article/36203