Laptop for Watchout Programming

Byoosing

Hi-

I am a video projection designer for theatre and I am hoping for some advice on which laptop to buy that I can install Watchout on to pre-program my shows from home. I need a laptop powerful enough to previz my programming before I walk into the theatre, but I do not need it to run a show. The laptop I want to buy I also plan on using as an editing computer for Adobe After Effects, Premiere, and some 3-D modeling. 

A Dell XPS-15 is one of the laptops that I am considering that fits all my specs for an editing laptop, but will it work for programming Watchout?

Here are the specs:

• 15. 6" 4K UHD (3840 x 2160) InfinityEdge anti-reflective touch IPS 100% a do be RGB 500-nits Display
  • 9th Generation Intel Core i7-9750h (12MB Cache, up to 4. 5 GHz, 6 Cores)
  • 16GB DDR4-2666MHz, 2x8G
  • 1TB PCIe SSD
  • Nvidia GeForce GTX 1650 4GB GDDR5
  • System Ram Type: Ddr4 Sdram

Any red flags here with these specs and is there anything else I need to program with Watchout that this laptop doesn't provide. 

Thank you in advance for any help provided. 

• Dataton Partner

Looks like a good choice, but make sure to uninstall all unneccessary bloatware from DELL since those might influence the stability and perfomance of a computer.

Depending on the number of outputs and codecs used in your show, the videos might still stutter a bit in your stage preview. This is normal since the stage window also acts as a "display computer" and needs to read all videos from your SSD, push the pixels through CPU and GPU , scale it down and render it. So in a larger show, which maybe uses 4 servers with 4 outputs, your production computer tries to simulate the load and performance of those 4 big servers. You can turn the video preview off and set it to thumbnails once your timing is correct.