Hardware to WatchOut

Zewei

Hi,

I'm pretty new to WatchOut and I am currently in charge of a gallery space that has a 360 wall projection that uses WatchOut. The gallery has 28 projectors and they are linked to 8 computers and 1 master computer. The specs of the computers are as attached. This system has been set up since December 2015 and lately I am having issues with the graphics cards overheating. 

I have two main queries which I would like to seek the advice of the experts here:

1. Is such a set up suitable?

2. What would be the likely cause of the graphics cards overheating?

Thanks very much

image.png.48b74240a6fcf1baa99ec2e2ece5d763.png

image.png.c70a61f3f10209158c00cf8516dfefb6.png

It has been a while since 2015 we provided these mechinces, I expect that it's time to dust off the machine and have a check if all of fans inside the chassis work properly. 

Good airflow & air conditioning will definitely help on this.

please feel free to contact me at leonard@avt.hk for further discuss.

• Dataton Partner

What Leonard said! 

And ps: setup appears to be solid for years to come (specifically for gallery / museum setups where you normally have more than enough time to tweak content to be most efficient). 

On 8/14/2018 at 10:32 AM, Leonard said:

It has been a while since 2015 we provided these mechinces, I expect that it's time to dust off the machine and have a check if all of fans inside the chassis work properly. 

Good airflow & air conditioning will definitely help on this.

please feel free to contact me at leonard@avt.hk for further discuss.

x3

The most common causes of overheating are ...

• dust buildup
  • inadequate air flow (look for changes that may have occurred around the computer that may have changed air flow)
  • high ambient temperatures
  • failed fans