Show Control (Production Computer) halt or run on `gotoControlCue`

Daniel B Chapman

I'm new to Watchout and --perhaps-- this is more of a feature request than a questions, but

I'm trying to construct a router between ETC Eos consoles and Watchout so that my lighitng operators can run the media server. (I'm used to a bit more cue-centric/theatrical style of creating shows and we often have to move back in time during technical rehearsals.) What I'd like to see is when I send `gotoControlCue ${id}` the timeline respects the control cue's action. Right now if I send "gotoControlCue 3" to my timeline while it is running the pause action is ignored:

image.png.8e8bd185508943b4ce63a241d522a904.png

Additionally, if I want to execute cue I need to send two commands `gotoControlCue ${id}` and `run`. Additionally I would expected a paused timeline to start when going to a control cue that plays:

image.png.d27f8da57158e93e4981a194607bb2a6.png

Because I do not have a way to query the state of the media server from the lighting console I don't have a great way to handle this choice. Any ideas for how to construct a time line without building a separate control timeline would be appreciated. 

Perhaps I'm asking for another command such as `executeControlCue ${id} <...options>` to be available. My shows typically have between 100-200 control cues so being able to operate in a linear fashion is really important (and part of the reason I've chosen Watchout for my next set of servers). I'm sure I can "make it work" but I would really prefer a more elegant solution such as "executeCue 6" and having it play/pause/trigger based on what the control cue is.

Thanks!
-Daniel B. Chapman

Morgan,